Coming Soon: A Month Dedicated to All Things Horrifying, Supernatural, and Nerdy!

“April is the cruelest month” to quote T.S. Eliot, and it’ll be a cruelty will be just one of the themes that will run through the month, as I’m switching gears here at Panel Discussions and focusing on all things horror.

I wish I could say my theme was solely inspired by Eliot’s line, but in reality I have my own agenda. I’m first and foremost a fiction writer, and since the new year started I’ve been in-between projects, unsure of what to devote myself to (I never have a shortage of ideas). After spending a huge amount of time obsessing over shows like American Horror Story and The Walking Dead, as well as the hours I spent reading every Hellboy comic from #1 to the present, I’ve decided to try my hand at the macabre. What I have dimly envisaged is a collection of short stories where each features a supernatural or horrific aspect, and as often as possible I want to undermine the cliches and traditions of the genre to create something original.

For inspiration, I’ll be reading all of the supernatural horror I possibly can, from writers like H.P. Lovecraft and Edgar Allan Poe to comics like House of Mystery, Marvel Zombies, B.P.R.D., and hopefully re-read some old Sandmans. If horror’s your thing, go ahead and bookmark this site or subscribe for free. If horror’s not your forte, I’ll still be writing on other subjects as well. For example, I just read the graphic novels Joe the Barbarian, Daytripper, Batman: Detective 27, and Will Eisner’s magnificent The Building, all of which I hope to review soon.

—-Check out my books The Madness of Art: Short Stories and A Rapturous Occasion.

If you want to help me out without forking over any cash, click like on my new public Facebook page!

If you’re into horror and you’re a nerd, I hope you enjoy this next month!

Leave a Reply

