Some of the New Images I’ve Made to Promote The Madness of Art: Short Stories

With most of the images I create to promote my book The Madness of Art Short Stories, I try to use the comic book method–that is, penciling, inking, then coloring with the computer. There’s two challenges I have to deal with: I don’t have a lightbox (a box that projects light from underneath the image, making it traceable, thus reducing pencil lines) and I haven’t figured out how to use computer colors all that well. To get around those problems, I have to keep the images fairly simple. Anyways, here’s what I’ve come up with recently.

The image above was actually made with pastel crayons and a steak knife, with the text then added by computer.

My book The Madness of Art Short Stories is basically a collection of eight tales all dealing with the stranger aspects of the creative process, with stories ranging from a time travel yarn involving the city of Portland in the future to a murder mystery set in New York at the peak of the Red Scare.

If you would like to purchase my book, it’s available on Amazon and through Barnes and Noble as both a paperback and an ebook. Right now the paperback is on-sale both places for 28% off.

One thought on “Some of the New Images I’ve Made to Promote The Madness of Art: Short Stories

Leave a Reply

