It’s Marvel Month Here at Panel Discussions

Hi. I’ve decided for the next four weeks I’ll be devoting a special amount of time and energy to writing about Marvel comics. I’ll be calling it Marvel Month. You might be thinking I should have started at the first of November, and I agree that’d make more sense, but I’m starting now and I guess this new feature will go until December 8th.

Why?

As a birthday gift, I just got a subscription to the Marvel website. The incredible part is, Marvel allows subscribers access to a huge quantity of digital comics–around 10,000! I don’t want to sound like a walking advertisement for Marvel, but this subscription is just a dream come true. I’ve always liked reading comics in large quantities, and this site allows me to do just that. Payment is $9.99 a month, and if you have the extra cash handy, I’d recommend it.

In the last few days, I’ve read a horrendous amount of Marvel. Yesterday I read the five-part Ultimatum series, plus about a dozen issues of Deadpool. Today I finished reading the epic X-Men: Second Coming.

Part of my goal is to use this as an opportunity to finally say that I understand the Marvel Universe. Currently, I don’t. My understanding of the DCU is much better, partially because I own more DC comics, and partially because DC is frankly easier to follow. There have been some questions about Marvel that have been nagging at me for a long time now. For instance, what has Spiderman been doing since Brand New Day? Why are there so many Hulks? Whatever happened to X-Man? How is Harry Osborne alive again? Is Silver Surfer alive or dead? This morning I had one question answered for me: why did Nightcrawler die? Check out X-Men: Second Coming for the answer to that.

To make this interactive, if you have any burning questions about Marvel, write them in the comments box and if I find the answer I’ll post about it.

If you don’t like Marvel, stay tuned to this site anyways, as I’ve read other graphic novels and things I hope to post about.

Okay, that’s it for now. As usual, make sure to check out my book The Madness of Art: Short Stories available on Amazon and through Barnes and Noble.

You can also follow me on twitter:

Leave a Reply

