Special Feature for this Site: DC Comics Week!

September has finally rolled around and the biggest comic event in years has just began.  I’m talking, of course, of the DC relaunch.  Unfortunately, this comes at a time when I’ve got very little extra cash lying around, so I thought, instead of blogging about each and every new DC #1 (I’m sure thousands of bloggers will be doing that anyways) I’ll instead devote this week to looking back at the DC universe as it used to be, before Flashpoint and the new 52 idea mixed things up.

Don’t get the wrong idea.  I’m not obstinately avoiding progress or taking a stubborn classicist view of comics.  Instead, I just want to look back on some of the interesting comics DC’s given us in the past, doing my part to help people remember what came before. 

My general philosophy with comics is, it doesn’t matter if a comic’s old or new, a collector’s item or a forgotten issue, slightly worn or a gold-embossed variant, worth $100 or $.10, a comic is a comic.  Similarly, if it comes before or after the relaunch, a story is a story, and when it comes down to it, that’s what comics are, stories.

So from today to next Thursday, bookmark or subscribe to paneldiscussions.wordpress.com because I’m going to try to add as much solid content about the “old” DCU as I can.  By Friday, I’ll go back to posting about a variety of comic/cartoon stuff.

Also, if you’re not a big comics fan, I’m also planning on writing up posts on two of my favorite cartoons, Futurama and The Simpsons.

Leave a Reply

