Is Making Your Own Comic Possible?

For a long time now I’ve been entertaining the notion of creating my own comic to place on this site for free.  As anyone who might have looked at my Poorly Drawn Comics page will know, I’m not a phenomenal artist.  I don’t want that to stop me though, so I’m writing up this post to be a sort of open forum.

To anyone who does dabble in comics, or likes to draw and color and so on, do you have any tips on how to create a passable comic?  Of course, I’m not trying to do Frank Quitely or Alex Ross quality work.  Honestly, I’d like to be able to finish a page a day, and don’t want to spend more than a few hours working at it at a time.

I have at my disposal…

Pencils, inks, watercolor paint,

A program called Gimp, similar to Paint for Windows.

A scanner.

I don’t have…

Photoshop,

a lightbox

Fancy Markers.

So anyways, if anyone has an idea of how to put together a decent comic with limited resources and limited time, write up your suggestions in the response box.

Here’s my first attempt…

Another example of what the Comic Book Guy on the Simpsons would call "Sub-Ziggy" artwork...

Leave a Reply

